Check marketplace image and AI rules.
Image size, background and AI disclosure rules depend on where you sell. Compare the requirements below, then read the source and category guidance before preparing your listing.
This reference covers ten platforms. eBay, Walmart and TikTok Shop entries use US guidance. Recommendations, upload-route limits and future changes are marked separately. A size check or an AI tag alone does not guarantee marketplace approval.
Compare platformsCompare the rules that affect your export.
This is a starting point, not a universal pass or fail checklist. Main images, supporting images, catalog feeds and ads can have different rules on the same platform. Each row links to its qualifications and official sources.
On smaller screens, scroll the table sideways to compare all columns.
| Platform | Dimensions and scope | File limit and scope | AI and disclosure |
|---|---|---|---|
| AmazonRead caveats | 500–10,000 px, longest side | No general cap verified | Tag photorealistic AI people before upload. |
| EtsyRead caveats | 2000 × 2000 px recommended | No hard cap verified; timeout warnings | Own-photo rules and AI-created-item disclosure are separate. |
| eBayRead caveats | 500 px longest side; 1600 × 1600 advised | 12 MB per image | Accurate item representation remains required. |
| Walmart MarketplaceRead caveats | 2200 × 2200 specified; 1500 × 1500 for zoom | 5 MB or less | AI images must remain truthful and accurate. |
| TikTok ShopRead caveats | At least 600 × 600 px; square | 10 MB direct listing; 5 MB Media Center | Accurate AIGC still has to satisfy listing-image rules. |
| ShopifyRead caveats | 2048 × 2048 advised; 25 MP maximum | Smaller than 20 MB | Shopify-generated images carry an invisible watermark. |
| Google Merchant CenterRead caveats | 500 × 500 announced for January 31, 2027 | No larger than 16 MB | Preserve generative-AI source metadata. |
| MetaRead caveats | Catalog dimensions not verified | Catalog limit not verified | Ad AI info labels differ from organic labels. |
| PinterestRead caveats | Catalog main image: at least 1000 × 1500 | Standard ads: 20 MB desktop, 32 MB in-app | Conditional feed disclosures and AI detection labels. |
| ZalandoRead caveats | 762 × 1100 minimum; designer exception | 20 MB maximum | Invisible marking heading says required by December 2026. |
Read the requirements in context.
“Not verified” means the official specification could not be confirmed in this review. “Not specified” refers only to the sources reviewed. Neither means a platform has no rule. Policies and account requirements can change.
Amazon
Product listings and A+ content; category rules can add requirements.
Last checked
- Main image
- Pure white RGB 255/255/255 main background (official moderator); public guide recommends product fill of at least 85%. Category rules may differ.
- Minimum dimensions
- 500 px on longest side; maximum 10,000 px on longest side (public Amazon guide).
- Recommended and other dimensions
- Larger than 1,000 px for zoom; not a universal upload minimum.
- File formats
- JPEG, TIFF, PNG, non-animated GIF; JPEG preferred.
- File size
- No universal image file-size cap verified in the accessible general guidance.
- Image count
- Maximum not verified. At least one image required; six or more recommended.
- AI image rules
- Photorealistic fully AI-generated people need tagging before upload. No-people, nonphotorealistic people, real people edited with AI, and expressive-work exceptions are stated in Amazon's announcement. General image accuracy/category rules still apply.
- AI disclosure
- New uploads require tagging; official moderators recommend updating older media when editing listings. Their replies differ on retroactivity and historical dates.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- XMP dc:subject keyword contains-synthetic-performer. A+ moderator guidance also describes its AI-generated-people checkbox.
What to check before uploading
- New uploads require the tag. Official moderators recommend updating older images, but their replies differ on retroactivity and historical dates. Older images should not be treated as exempt.
- The tagging help page requires sign-in. The sources below distinguish Amazon’s announcement and moderator replies from its public photography guide.
- White-background rules concern the main image; other image types and categories can have different requirements.
Official sources
- Product photography guide
- Main-background moderator clarification (official forum)
- AI-generated people announcement (official forum)
- New-upload and older-image moderator guidance (official forum)
- Metadata moderator guidance and retroactivity caveat (official forum)
Etsy
Listing photos; disclosure of an AI-created item is a separate issue.
Last checked
- Main image
- Own photos/video, accurate actual item; seller policy excludes stock photos/artistic renderings with limited custom/production-partner exceptions. Landscape or square first photo is guidance.
- Minimum dimensions
- First image should be at least 635×635 px to avoid lower search placement; this is search guidance, not a verified upload rejection threshold.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- At least 2000 px in both width and height.
- File formats
- JPG, GIF, PNG, SVG, HEIC in current main help. No animated GIF or transparent PNG; transparency can appear black.
- File size
- No hard maximum verified. Main image guide warns over 1 MB may fail on slow connections; troubleshooting text uses 300k as a timeout warning.
- Image count
- Up to 20 photos per listing (plus two videos, counted separately).
- AI image rules
- Own-photo/accurate-item policy still applies. AI-created-item disclosure is about how the item was created, not permission to replace actual-product listing photos with AI renderings.
- AI disclosure
- Disclose use of AI to create an item in the relevant listing.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- No image metadata tag specified in reviewed seller/image policies; not proof no other requirements exist.
What to check before uploading
- The 635 px first-photo guidance concerns search placement. The 2000 px recommendation is not an upload rejection threshold.
- The image guide warns about files over 1 MB; listing troubleshooting text also mentions 300k. These are connection-timeout warnings, not verified hard limits.
- The seller policy names limited custom-item and production-partner exceptions. Their detailed conditions were not accessible during this review.
eBay
US listing policy and US photo uploader guidance.
Last checked
- Main image
- Accurate whole item, usually face-on; uncluttered neutral backdrop is advice. No added text, borders, artwork, marketing material or watermarks. Stock photos prohibited for used/damaged/defective items.
- Minimum dimensions
- Policy requires at least 500 px on the longest side; upload tips separately say 500×500 px.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- About 1600×1600 px; 1:1 or 16:9 described as looking best, not compulsory.
- File formats
- JPEG, PNG, GIF, TIFF, BMP, WebP, HEIC, AVIF.
- File size
- 12 MB per image in current US uploader help.
- Image count
- Up to 24 photos; at least one required.
- AI image rules
- Images must accurately represent the item and content must be truthful, accurate and rights-compliant. US upload help offers AI-generated backgrounds; that feature is not blanket approval of synthetic product representations.
- AI disclosure
- No general AI-specific listing-photo disclosure requirement was located in the three reviewed US pages.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- No image AI metadata field specified in reviewed US pages; not proof of no applicable rules.
What to check before uploading
- The picture policy requires 500 px on the longest side. The upload tips separately say 500 × 500 px and recommend about 1600 × 1600 px.
- The current US help says 12 MB. Some other regional help pages use different limits.
- The uploader offers AI backgrounds. That feature does not grant blanket permission to alter the item being sold.
Walmart Marketplace
US marketplace image guide; category exceptions still apply.
Last checked
- Main image
- Seamless white RGB 255/255/255; larger items may appear in expected environments. Main image must match actual item, with no watermark/seller logo or unbundled accessories. The current FAQ requires actual product images and disallows stock photos.
- Minimum dimensions
- 1500×1500 px is specifically minimum for zoom; not presented as a universal upload minimum.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- 2200×2200 px is the guide's listed Pixel Dimensions specification, not explicitly labelled a recommendation; square 1:1.
- File formats
- JPEG/JPG, PNG, BMP; no GIF. RGB.
- File size
- 5 MB or less.
- Image count
- Maximum not specified in reviewed guide; minimum four images recommended.
- AI image rules
- AI images must be truthful, accurate, not misleading, rights-compliant and follow all Marketplace policies.
- AI disclosure
- No standalone AI disclosure mechanism specified in the reviewed US image guide.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- No AI metadata field specified in reviewed US image guide.
What to check before uploading
- The US guide lists 2200 × 2200 px as its image specification. Its 1500 × 1500 px threshold is specifically for zoom.
- Main images use seamless white. The guide permits larger products in their expected environment and notes additional category requirements.
- At least four images is a recommendation; a universal maximum was not specified in the reviewed guide.
- The image FAQ disallows stock imagery and condition-description overlays. Submitting a valid image does not guarantee that it becomes the displayed seller contribution.
TikTok Shop
US product listings; creator posts have a separate disclosure workflow.
Last checked
- Main image
- Product Listing Policy requires pure white background and front physical product view; no added logos/text/borders/watermarks/graphics. No placeholder or digital product rendering. Category rules, including child swimwear/underwear flat display, apply.
- Minimum dimensions
- At least 600 × 600 px under the US Product Listing Policy.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- No distinct higher pixel recommendation verified. Use square images; separate quality guidance recommends five or more.
- File formats
- JPG/JPEG, PNG in direct-listing and Media Center guides.
- File size
- 10 MB in the direct Add Products guide; 5 MB for Media Center image uploads. These are different upload routes.
- Image count
- Up to nine square listing images; select one main image.
- AI image rules
- The September 24 guidance conditionally allows accurate AIGC. The Product Listing Policy also prohibits placeholders and digital product renderings; accurate output must still satisfy that policy.
- AI disclosure
- Creator promotional content that is fully or significantly AI-generated or edited requires disclosure through a post label or content note. A corresponding product-gallery setting was not verified.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- No specific product-image XMP/IPTC field prescribed in reviewed TikTok policies.
What to check before uploading
- The US Product Listing Policy explicitly requires a pure white main-image background. Its separate listing-quality guide recommends white; the recommendation does not replace the policy.
- The direct listing guide says 10 MB for images. The Media Center guide says 5 MB. The 5 MB figure in the listing policy concerns video, not image uploads.
- The September AI-image guidance conditionally permits accurate AIGC, while the listing policy separately prohibits product placeholders and digital renderings. Do not assume an AI-generated main product image is compliant.
- Creator AI disclosure applies to promotional content and its posting settings. A product-gallery AI disclosure setting was not verified.
Shopify
Shopify product media; connected sales channels have their own rules.
Last checked
- Main image
- No general white-background requirement in reviewed media help. Keep featured-image aspect ratios consistent for collection display; appearance depends on theme.
- Minimum dimensions
- No universal minimum stated in reviewed product-media spec.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- 2048×2048 px usually displays best for square product photos. Maximum 5000×5000 px or 25 MP.
- File formats
- PNG, JPEG, TIFF, BMP, GIF, SVG, HEIC, WebP; animated GIF/WebP also supported by this product-media spec.
- File size
- Smaller than 20 MB (strictly less, not 'up to 20 MB').
- Image count
- 250 media items per product in total, combining images,3D models and videos.
- AI image rules
- Shopify offers AI media editing; this is not a universal rule granting permission for every product depiction or connected sales channel.
- AI disclosure
- Its media-generation tool applies an invisible watermark. Merchant-wide disclosure requirement for third-party AI images not specified in reviewed help.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- Shopify-generated images' invisible metadata watermark cannot be removed; no merchant-added XMP value prescribed on reviewed pages.
What to check before uploading
- The 250-item limit combines images, videos and 3D models per product.
- The invisible watermark statement applies to images generated by Shopify’s own media tool. It is not a prescribed Shopify metadata field for every third-party AI image.
- Image display depends on the theme. Upload support in Shopify does not guarantee acceptance by another marketplace.
Google Merchant Center
Product data image_link; additional and lifestyle images are distinct fields.
Last checked
- Main image
- Actual accurate whole product, no promotional overlays/borders; white or transparent background is best-practice advice, and clear lifestyle scenes may be accepted. Category exceptions exist.
- Minimum dimensions
- The source announces at least 500 × 500 px for all products from January 31, 2027, while already displaying 500 × 500 in its current minimum-requirements table. Current universal enforcement is unclear as of October 21, 2026.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- 1500×1500 px or above; no larger than 64 MP.
- File formats
- JPEG, WebP, PNG, GIF, BMP, TIFF.
- File size
- No larger than 16 MB.
- Image count
- One main image plus up to 10 additional image URLs through additional_image_link. The separate lifestyle-image attribute is outside that count.
- AI image rules
- All generative-AI images must retain AI-source metadata and still meet image accuracy/content requirements.
- AI disclosure
- Machine-readable AI-source metadata; do not strip embedded IPTC DigitalSourceType.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- IPTC DigitalSourceType TrainedAlgorithmicMedia for generative-AI images; guidance also lists CompositeSynthetic and AlgorithmicMedia source categories to preserve.
What to check before uploading
- The source announces a 500 × 500 px minimum for all products beginning January 31, 2027, but its minimum-requirements table already shows that value. This review does not treat the future threshold as universally enforced on October 21, 2026.
- White or transparent backgrounds and 1500 × 1500 px or larger images are best-practice advice. The page also describes category exceptions and acceptable lifestyle scenes.
- Additional image URLs have their own attribute. Lifestyle-image fields should not be silently included in an overall image-count total.
Meta
Commerce catalog technical specifications and ad-image labels have different scopes.
Last checked
- Main image
- Official catalog technical specifications were inaccessible during review; catalog requirements remain unverified here.
- Minimum dimensions
- Not verified from an accessible official catalog source.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- Not verified from an accessible official catalog source.
- File formats
- Not verified from an accessible official catalog source.
- File size
- Not verified from an accessible official catalog source.
- Image count
- Not verified from an accessible official catalog source.
- AI image rules
- Official ad-help page describes AI info for images created/significantly edited with Meta AI features or third-party AI tools. This describes label behavior, not blanket catalog-content permission.
- AI disclosure
- AI info is shown in About this ad and sometimes beside Sponsored; organic labels differ. Minor resizing/colour correction may not get labels.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- No seller-added image metadata value specified in the accessible official ad-label page.
What to check before uploading
- The official catalog technical pages were inaccessible or required sign-in during this review. Catalog dimensions, formats, file size and image count remain unverified here.
- The accessible official source explains AI info labels for ads. It does not establish blanket permission for catalog imagery or provide catalog upload specifications.
Official sources
Retail catalog feed, standard image ads and organic Pins are separate surfaces.
Last checked
- Main image
- Retail catalog requires accessible actual main-product image, no template/placeholder. Feed spec lists at least 1000×1500 px for image_link.
- Minimum dimensions
- Catalog main image at least 1000×1500 px; additional_image_link images at least 75×75 px.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- Standard image ads recommend 2:3 /1000×1500 px; this is format-specific.
- File formats
- PNG or JPEG for standard image ads; other Pinterest formats have separate specifications.
- File size
- Standard image ads: desktop 20 MB, in-app 32 MB. Catalog-feed image cap not separately verified.
- Image count
- Catalog supports one main plus up to 10 additional image URLs. Other ad formats differ.
- AI image rules
- Pinterest detects/labels AI-generated or modified Pins using IPTC metadata and classifiers; the reviewed label page does not grant blanket permission.
- AI disclosure
- Catalog shopping-ad field ai_disclosures describes realistic AI-modified media and synthetic humans; AI labels can also reflect owner disclosure or detection.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- Catalog feed ai_disclosures uses a media URL with ai_modified and/or synthetic_performer disclosures in the specified scenarios. No universal required IPTC tag value was established in the reviewed sources.
What to check before uploading
- The catalog feed specifications and standard-image ad upload limits refer to different surfaces. Other ad formats have separate specifications.
- The feed places ai_disclosures among optional shopping-ad fields, with conditional instructions for realistic AI-modified content and synthetic people. It is not a universal image-metadata field.
- The AI-label help page describes IPTC metadata and classifier detection. It does not by itself establish a blanket prohibition on removing any metadata.
Zalando
Partner catalogue views; technical and minimum-image requirements vary by assortment.
Last checked
- Main image
- Catalogue view: full front/subtle-angle product or model-front crop per category. Plain/lifestyle/ambient backgrounds accepted; white packshots may be changed to light grey. No visible mannequin in mandatory views.
- Minimum dimensions
- 762×1100 px; designer brands minimum 1800×2600 px.
- Recommended and other dimensions
- Best practice 1801×2600 px; required portrait ratio 1:1.44, with rounding caveat.
- File formats
- JPG/JPEG, sRGB.
- File size
- 20 MB maximum.
- Image count
- No maximum specified. Category minimums include three images for apparel/accessories/shoes, two for home, and one for hosiery. Check the guide for other assortments.
- AI image rules
- Synthetic/AI content must satisfy believability, accuracy and quality; distorted product/model details can be rejected. Content requiring visible legal labels is not accepted under this guidance.
- AI disclosure
- No visible on-image AI labels. Invisible marking section says required by December 2026, with strongly recommend and must wording in its body.
- Metadata or disclosure mechanism
- Embed identifying metadata or invisible watermark; source names no universal field/value. Keep marking permanent through upload.
What to check before uploading
- Designer brands have a separate minimum. The guide’s best-practice dimensions and exact aspect-ratio rounding instructions should be kept as written.
- The invisible-marking heading says required by December 2026; the body uses both strongly recommend and must wording. No exact December deadline or universal metadata field is specified.
- Visible labels are not accepted under this guide. Content requiring visible labeling under applicable law should not be submitted under that guidance.
- Minimum image counts depend on the category. Some rows in the source table span multiple categories; check the category guide for the actual assortment.
Official sources
Prepare the file for the rule you need.
Start with an accurate original photo. Review the platform’s main-image and category rules, choose the export dimensions, then check the finished file. Add or verify AI metadata when the destination requires it.
- Check a marketplace photo
- Resize a product photo
- Add and inspect AI image tags
- Compress a product photo
- Add a shadow where the destination permits it
Check metadata again after conversion or compression. A checker cannot confirm every category policy, product claim or legal disclosure obligation.
Read the disclosure rules in practice.
- Amazon’s people-tag instructions
- Google’s image-source metadata
- How AI image rules differ by platform
- EU provider marking and seller disclosure
Review history
- Initial primary-source review for ten platforms. Recorded US TikTok background and upload-route differences, Amazon moderator qualifications, Google’s announced 2027 size transition, and unverified Meta catalog specifications. No marketplace upload or approval test was performed.
This guide summarizes the linked guidance and does not replace it or provide legal advice. Refer to the official source and your current account requirements when publishing.